fr en es pt
Contact the author rss astronoo

Moons of solar system planets − articles


Moons of the planets

 Automatic translation  Automatic translation  

The two moons of Mars are Phobos and Deimos (terror and fear in Greek), names derived from the son of the god Ares in Ancient Greece. The moons of Mars may well be captured asteroids from the main asteroid belt between Mars and Jupiter. In 2006, 63 were known moons of Jupiter, the record of the solar system. In 2009, Saturn had 62 known moons, including Titan. Titan is larger than Mercury or Pluto.


Uranus has at least 13 main rings. Five were discovered in 1977 by observations of occultation of stars by Uranus. Six others were observed by Voyager 2 between 1985 and 1986. The last two were discovered by the Hubble Space Telescope in December 2005. The rings of Uranus, barely visible particles are composed of one centimeter. Uranus has at least 27 natural satellites.


Neptune is surrounded by a ring system formed of rock and dust. Five distinct rings were identified, including two very diffuse, at distances ranging from 42900 and 62900 km of the planet. In 2003, the number of satellites of Neptune was 13 and in 2013, a fourteenth moon was discovered on old photographs (2004-2009) taken by the Hubble Space Telescope.


1997 © − Astronomy, Astrophysics, Evolution and Earth science.