fr en es pt
Contact the author rss astronoo

Signs of the Zodiac

Astrology and Zodiac

 Automatic translation  Automatic translation Updated June 01, 2013

The zodiac is a circular area of the celestial sphere.
The zodiac is nowadays divided into thirteen constellations corresponding to the twelve signs.
Zodiac comes from the Greek word zodiakos, "circle of little animals".
This name comes from the fact that all the constellations of the Zodiac (except Libra, formerly a part of Scorpio) depict living creatures.
Zodiac signs are known by astrologers but the Zodiac is the name of the zone of heaven located around the ecliptic, which are observed movements of the Sun and planets. The trajectory of the Sun on the celestial sphere is the ecliptic. The zodiac is traditionally divided into twelve constellations corresponding to the twelve signs. In fact, the ecliptic passes through thirteen constellations in the sky but one of them, Ophiuchus (Serpent), is not part of the traditional Zodiac.


These constellations in the zodiac are: Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Ophiuchus (or Ophiuchus), Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius and Pisces. In Western astrology, date of birth is the starting point of our lives.
This starting point corresponds to an image of the planets compared to the 12 zodiac constellations.
This position provides information to analyze or predict human events, collective or individual.
A survey conducted in North America and in Britain indicates that one in four (25% of people) think that "the positions of stars and planets can affect a person's life."

Aries Taurus Gemini
Cancer Leo Virgo
Libra Scorpio Sagittarius
Capricorn Aquarius Pisces
March 21
April 20
April 21
May 21
Zodiac AriesZodiac Taurus
Aries marks
the revival...
Taurus, aesthetic,
refined and charming...
September 23
October 23
October 24
November 20
Zodiac Librazodiac Scorpio
Libra, does not support
the loneliness...
Scorpio, the sign
of the fantasies...
May 22
June 21
June 22
July 22
zodiac Geminizodiac Cancer
Gemini, an unstable
Cancer, a harmonious
family life...
November 21
December 21
December 22
January 20
zodiac Sagittariuszodiac Capricorn
Sagittarius, fiery,
rebellious conformist...
the most reasonable...
July 23
August 21
August 22
September 22
zodiac Leozodiac Virgo
Leo, ambitious he runs
after the success...
Virgo, reason
and prudence...
January 21
February 19
February 20
March 20
zodiac Aquariuszodiac Pisces
Aquarius represents
hopes and dreams...
Pisces, loyalty
and selflessness...

1997 © − Astronomy, Astrophysics, Evolution and Ecology.
"The data available on this site may be used provided that the source is duly acknowledged."